Critique 7

After the uproar the most recent edition of Time Magazine incited, I was curious to see what The New York Times reported on the issue. After scrolling through tweets from the past week and browsing articles in the related sections, I finally opted to search for related stories using the somewhat-inconspicuously located search bar at the top of the page.

Much to my surprise, I did not find an article specifically about the story or reactions to it. Because of The New York Times’ clean design and user friendliness, I feel confident that I did not miss the story – rather, it has not yet been written.

Fortunately, my search results drew me to one of The New York Times blogs, an area I have not yet explored. I selected a Monday post from Motherlode. I really enjoyed this section, and I will definitely return to the blogs (especially if I cave an purchase a subscription).

Compared to many of the bloggers (not affiliated with The New York Times) I read regularly, Motherlode had fewer advertisements. The post had several links. Although the number of links bordered the fine line of “too many,” they linked to great supporting information. A toolbar allowed me to scroll between ‘previous’ and ‘next’ posts. Other featured posts and “comments of the moment” were also clearly displayed. I especially loved that comments section. Additional comments appeared at the bottom of the post. Readers also had several opportunities to browse related posts.

However, my favorite part of the blog was the “About Motherlode” section. I enjoyed reading about the blog and one of the primary Motherlode bloggers. I think it is important that blog readers can find the background of their bloggers. Because blogs reflect personal experiences, background is necessary to evaluate the source. Although the blog lacked The New York Times signature toolbox of sharing options, ample opportunities to Tweet, Facebook and share existed.

Author: nhgermano

Day Dream Believer.

Leave a Reply

