Try This: Roasted Acorn Squash

My attempt at “Perfectly Roasted Acorn Squash” as recommended at Eat, Live, Run.

Support for local food abounds in Athens. The farmers’ market sells local goods year-round, and even does so twice a week April through December. During my time regularly attending the Athens Farmers’ Market, I have become more and more accustomed to foods’ peak seasons. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to make it to the farmers’ market this week. Instead, I found my weekly produce at Kroger. [My former-employer (Kroger) provides large organic and local sections...so I don't too bad when I miss a farmers' market Saturday.]

Currently, one of my favorite produce items is acorn squash. Acorn sqush is a “winter squash.”¬†And, ironically, its peak season is coming to a close. However, I was still able to find it at the local Kroger. Acorn squash is – by far- my latest craze. In the past two weeks, I’ve made this recipie TWICE (meaning I’ve eaten four whole servings in fewer than 14 days.)

You have to try it. It’s super easy and unbelievably tasty. As I tweeted yesterday, if you do one thing this week, make it this recipe. Much thanks to Jenna at “Eat, Live, Run” for this fantastic “nonrecipe.” Better yet, visit the farmers’ market tomorrow and pick up a locally grown squash for your recipe!

2 thoughts on “Try This: Roasted Acorn Squash

Leave a Reply

